From “The party girl” to “The cool mom”.

I was 15 years old the first time I got drunk. I remember chugging alcohol out of a big flower vase, then the next thing I know I was waking up on my moms couch with a pounding headache while she yelled at me. I was so confused and I felt awful. I picked up the phone and called a friend so figure out what happened. The next 6 years were a blur, I was constantly out and about! I know your probably thinking , “Where were your parents?!”. Well let me tell you, my dad was M.I.A for a good 6 years after him and my mom split up. My mom was busy raising my twin brothers and working full time. Even though she didn’t approve of me partying I ignored her and did it anyway. I thought I was invincible.

One day, I was at beauty school and I got really dizzy and light headed. I asked a friend to help me to the bathroom so I could take a minute and regroup. The first thing out of her mouth was “Are you pregnant or something?”. At that moment my heart sank to my toes. Could I be pregnant??? The next day, I told my boyfriend I thought I might be pregnant. After work we went to target to get a pregnancy test. Sure enough, the pee stick turn positive. I was pregnant!!! My boyfriend and I cried, not tears of joy unfortunately. We were scared out of our minds. “Should we get an abortion?” He asked me. I replied with “No!” This was our problem and we werent going to take the easy way out. The next 9 months, I continued to go to beauty school, in fact I was on the salon floor cutting hair until a week before I gave birth. I actually spent my 21st birthday 9 months pregnant at the Golden Corral buffet!

September 27th, 2012 at 12:52 pm, my life was changed for ever, Dahlia Adalynn was born. The partying days were over…for a little while.

The next year, I was 21 years old busy with a baby, finishing beauty school and finally working at a salon! I didn’t have time to party anymore. That was until Dahlia’s dad and I hit a rough patch and eventually broke up. While I spent my 21st year being a responsible mom, I felt that I needed time for myself. I started to go out and party again. Dahlia went with her dad on the weekends so I had the time to go out.

Life was great, I was able to out and experience the party life as a legal adult! I had money to go out and buy drinks, I was meeting new people every weekend, but I was very lonely. There was a void that I was trying to fill with alcohol. The problem was that alcohol would leave me feeling even more empty.

In May of 2014, I met Eric. From the first day we started texting I knew there was something special about him. 5 months later Dahlia and I moved in with him. 6 months after that I was pregnant with Lucas, Eric’s first baby and my second.

When Lucas was born in December of 2015 I knew he was the last puzzle piece that completed my heart. I had a family now, at last my void was filled!

Being a mom is the best thing I’ve ever experienced. My kids are blessings, if I didn’t have them I don’t know what would’ve happened to my life. I traded my binge drinking for binge Pinterest-ing and I’m so glad.

Leave a Reply

