Sleep.

It is April 3rd, 2017. Eric, Lucas and I just completed our 3rd successful night of no longer co-sleeping. Not only did we end co-sleeping, we also put him in his own room too! his own bed, his own room, all by himself. Lucas, my handsome 1 year old boy, did so well. It was harder for me I think.

NIGHT 1:

Friday night was our first night. Lucas had no idea what about to happen, it broke my heart. We let him play and run around the house till about 7 pm. Then I gave him a warm bath, massaged baby lotion on his little limbs, dressed him in comfy pajamas, let him say goodnight to Daddy and Sister. That was the easy part! When we went back into his room he knew something different was about to happen. I talked to him and told him it was time for “Me-me’s” (Spanish term for sleep time). He started to fuss a bit, I turn on his night light and music, rocked him for a few minutes, gave him 104 kisses (lol not really that much, maybe like 15) and laid him down in his crib.

He cried, and cried…and cried…and cried………….and cried. Eric and I got comfy in our bed, put on Game of Thrones, But I couldn’t concentrate! My son, who I’ve been co-sleeping with since birth was crying. I started to cry too, just thinking about how confused he must be! I started to tell Eric “What is he’s cold? What is he’s scared? Do you think he thinks I abandoned him?” My mind started to race, my anxiety was high. Eric finally calmed me down with “He’s fine, He has warm pajamas, He’s fed, He’s going to be ok.”  Ok seriously, I don’t know what I would do without Eric, this perfect man knows just what to say to calm me craziness down. Finally, I turned over and passed out.

Jump forward to 6:45 a.m. the next day, Lucas was still asleep! 7:15 a.m. rolled around, Lucas was still asleep! then 7:40 a.m. I peeked in his room and up popped his little head! He was awake with a huge smile on his face!

WE SURVIVED NIGHT 1!!!!!!!

Night 2 & 3:

Same deal. Played until 7 p.m. Warm bath, pajamas, bed. Only this time the crying stopped with in 5 minutes!

Jump forward to today 7:20 a.m. this boy is still asleep!!!! I’m hoping this gets easier as we continue to stick to it. As much as I miss cuddling with my boy I need to get some sleep.

Hallelujah! I know some people who read this might think I’m a selfish mama but oh well, I don’t need to explain myself. 🙂

Leave a Reply

